So this is the New Year…

4 01 2009

I rang in 2009 on Koh Phangan, Thailand. My traveling companions, friends both new and old decorated one another with florescent body paint and got down to the business of welcoming the new year with dancing and drinking cocktails made in buckets. We acknowledged the strike of midnight in Seoul, and then had the true revelry 2 hours later, at midnight in Thailand. Even though the celebration took place in the sand we still opted for the obligatory party dresses. Daniel and I took some pretty sweet photos of the celebration on his camera, but he isn’t back yet so those photos will have to wait to be posted. Now for a classic year-in-review type survey

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

2008 was a huge year of firsts, the biggest being the joint venture of graduating from university and moving to Seoul, South Korea

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I’m really not sure… I generally opt for some bland “self improvement” thing with no measurable goals, so I will be making some solid goals this year in order to actually see improvement.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No one close to me, my friends are all off doing other things, haha

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Yes, unfortunately

5. What countries did you visit?

Moved to Korea, visited Thailand and Canada

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

perhaps a more defined sense of direction? I’ve got lots of goals and dreams but they are all over the place. or maybe I’ll just pick one to pursue at a time and not worry about it 🙂

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I’m not much good with remembering dates, but I’ll remember events forever

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

My proudest accomplishment is of course my degree, and having the wisdom to turn down the jobs in America and come abroad as I’ve always wanted to

9. What was your biggest failure?

Nothing huge that comes to mind, but of course there are small failures that come with trying anything new. I’d say I’ve learned a lot about teaching through those small failures.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I had a lot of sickness in the first few months of living in smog, but that seems to have mostly straightened out.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Hands down, my Canon 450d.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

OBAMA

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

some people who were part of the presidential campaign drove me a little nuts…

14. Where did most of your money go?

Traveling, Korean fashion, camera, exploring Korea

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

So many ‘reallys’ for just one question…. but gosh I guess I get really excited abotu a lot of things, but the biggest being

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

of course Nobody by the Wonder Girls b/c of how often they play it here!

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? ugh, a little bit fatter. must.remedy.that
c) richer or poorer? much richer, but that isn’t saying a lot because this time last year I was home from Australia and lacking a job….

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

More writing, both here and to my friends at home.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

I wish I’d done less being lazy.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

Christmas was spent en route to Koh Phangan from Bangkok, and then having a drink at our resort with my coworkers

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

As corny as it sounds, I fell in love with my students. I never though I would like this job as much as I do, and they receive all credit for that

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Grey’s Anatomy, Six Feet Under (downloaded episodes, obviously), ANTM

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Not HATE, but there are a few new people I’m not terribly fond of. That’ll happen with meeting so many people in a year.

24. What was the best book you read?

Agh I couldn’t pick a favorite, I read a little too much. Right now I’m really enjoying Infinite Jest, but I’m not even half finished with it. It’s a bit all over the place but parts of it are very funny.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

K Pop….. ha ha ha

26. What did you want and get?

A teaching job and a dog

27. What did you want and not get?

Gosh something pretty small, since it doesn’t come to mind.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Wall-E!

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 22 and I went to a short shorts and sunglasses party at a co-op in East Lansing. Kind of a fun mess if I remember correctly 🙂

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

More opportunity for travel from Korea. Unfortunately not too many breaks during the teaching year 😦

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

OMG Korea Has Blessed Me With Multicolored Tights

32. What kept you sane?

The friends! The old ones as always, and I met some pretty damn fine individuals this year.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Hmmmm well since Ryan Reynolds didn’t come out with anything new (that I know of) I was pretty directionless with my celebrity passion

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The appalling possibility that anyone with as little experience and know-how as Sarah Palin could incite support from a vast amount of people. I was in a constant state of shock, awe and disgust pretty much the entire time. (and of course laughing at the SNL jokes… classic)

35. Who did you miss?

I miss all my loves from home… the one unfortunate part of all our ambitions

36. Who was the best new person you met?

My co-workers at Reggio are pretty high on my list 🙂

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

All the higher education in the world will not prepare you to teach young children, experience is priceless.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

An old, but great lyric: 

“I wish the world was flat like the old days | and we could travel just by folding a map | no more airplanes or speedtrains or freeways | there’d be no distance that could hold us back”

And now for those measurable goals…

New Year’s Resolutions 2009

1. Write more often (2x a week at least, photo posts don’t count!)

2. Lose 15 lbs. (run to work 3x a week at least, cook at home more often)

3. Learn to read Korean, for real. Finish memorizing the alphabet and work to get faster.

I tried to make very measurable goals and hopefully in writing them here I can track my progress and keep myself in check better than I would otherwise.

Happy New Year!

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 01 2009
Kris

This was an interesting read Alicia!! Just another window into getting to know my cousin!!! 🙂 (although I guess I’m old enough to be an aunt – ugg!!) Oh and BTW – I would love to see those multi-colored tights!!!! 🙂

9 01 2009
Nomadic Matt

we painted ourselves in FUNNY sayings. man it was a good time. i saw dawn every night i was on Haat Rin…or morning I should say….

9 01 2009
hellobabies

you were right, parties on koh phangan ARE better, although we did opt for the tribal decor with the florescent paint^^

Leave a Reply

