you should be in my space

9 09 2008

Updates have been few and far between from the small studio on… oh yeah, I don’t know what road I live on. The one where if you go back from that main street back to the one behind it, and then hang a right at the orange sign with the stars? yeah. that one. Man, Seoul is a weird place for directions. Apparently some of the streets have names. SOME.

I ventured from my original point already, which given my normal lack of direction isn’t so hard to believe. Anyway, I’m excited to report that at the end of the week it will be goodbye to the small apartment absolutely NOT made for two (three with the dog!) and helloooo to a nice roomy 2-bedroom apartment in sketchy sketchy Itaewon. While it isn’t the ideal place to live, the apartment is (comparitively) huge and I’ll be getting some forced exercise with the morning commute. Plus, no cab rides home from nights at the Loft! (I know, I know… but they give free drinks to ladies… ALL NIGHT!)

I’ve taken to life as a teacher. It was the last thing I ever saw myself doing, but I’ve slipped into the routine with few bumps in the road. There are the obvious miscommunications with the Korean co-teacher, but we get along so problems are easily hashed out at the end of the day. I’m starting to learn the basics of teaching phonics, reading, writing and communicating with children… that last on the list being my biggest hurdle to leap. I can make speeches in front of large groups of adult people with not a hint of nerves, but give me 12 small faces staring at me in confusion, and all of a sudden I’m over-explaining and using language far too complicated. Thankfully, those moments are getting fewer and more far between. I’m learning what to say and how to get them to answer questions! And chatter excitedly! And LAUGH!

This isn’t so hard, and in fact, it’s a pretty good life.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 09 2008
Nomadic Matt

I don’t know where I live either and I can relate to the sometimes street signs. In Bangkok we have that problem too and some streets have the same number and there is no pattern..it will go soi 1, 2, 3, 3/1, 4, 16, 17, 14, 14/2…..

it’s tough to get around lol

11 09 2008
reluctantwunderkind

I would love to be able to sit and watch you teach a class of little confused faces! You represent an entire country in their minds… scary. I wouldn’t sweat the whole address thing, I forgot my address while opening a bank account today. Yeah, they won’t give you a credit card if you can’t prove you’re not homeless.

misssssssss you moooooooore

Leave a Reply

