Asia Travel

27 07 2008

It’s funny where life takes us, sometimes. If I was asked a year ago where my next big travel adventure was going to be, I think Asia was one of the last places I might have mentioned. Perhaps parts of it, maybe India or Nepal. But moving to South Korea? Not even on the radar. I’m just finishing up my first week of living in Seoul and I couldn’t be happier. My only gripe is that the hagwon I’m working for failed to mention the 10 day break coming up just two weeks into my contract. Thanks for that.

So now, what to do with 10 days? Most of the other teachers are off to other countries, but airline tickets are mostly booked up by now. Not to mention I haven’t received my first paycheck yet, which is a bit of a necessity with a longer trip. Of course I will be using a few of those days to explore Seoul. I have only been to one other stop on the subway, so I do have a lot of ground to cover. My co-teacher has offered up her services as native-Seoulite to show me some sights.

I was doing a bit of research on the Korea Ultimate page as well, and it turns out there is a tournament in Busan over the break. If I can finagle my way onto a team, this break might just work out. As disappointing as it is to “waste” one of my 10 day breaks not going somewhere further away, a little exploration of this peninsula will be lovely.

As for other breaks, I do have many plans. And here *drumroll please* is my tentative Asia travel list…

-explore Tokyo

-climb Mt Fuji

-Visit Thailand, one day in Bangkok and out to the gorgeous tropical beaches for the rest

-Go surfing in Indonesia (Bali, perhaps?)

-Vietnam: Hanoi and Halong Bay, others?

-Hiking in Nepal

-Laos, sleeping in treehouses, ziplines through the jungle and hanging out with gibbons (thanks to one of my co-workers for this suggestion!)

-India!

That’s all for now, but I am open to suggestion on other destinations that can’t be missed in Asia. Thoughts?

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 07 2008
christinegilbert

That’s a great list, I would love to do all those things! Someday my husband and I will make it to Asia, we just have to figure out what to do with our dogs first!

11 08 2008
Laos Travel

i love Laos,
Laos is one of the poorest and least visited countries in the world.

Leave a Reply

