I have arrived

21 07 2008

The flight was fairly uneventful. What time I didn’t spend reading the ridiculously violent and sexually depraved book Naked Lunch (William S. Burroughs, totally screwed up) and studying Korean vocab, I spent sleeping. Upon arrival at the Incheon International Airport, I picked up my bags (side note: THEY DIDN’T LOSE MY BAGS! I have horrendous luck with this so woohoo Korean Air!) and made my way out of customs without a hitch.

My airport pick-up had a sign that read “Alicia” so I knew I was in the right place. Mr. Oh took my luggage rack and led me through the airport to his car, nearly hitting just about every person who got in his way, and even clipping some poor girl’s ankles with the heavy cart. I’m glad I was fairly tired, or else I might have laughed out loud when that happened, which I’m sure she would not have appreciated.  Between traffic and distance from the airport, it took about an hour to reach Seoul. At one point Mr. Oh slowed down rather abruptly, and then laughed when I asked if it was because of the speed camera. I guess speeding and not wanting to get caught is just one of those things that spans all cultures.

Now I am up too early from a night with a bed too hard, sipping tea that tastes mostly pleasant but also a little bit like dirt. Weird.

I need food, but first I need to switch money. From a short walk down the road last night I know there are no English signs, and the atm doesn’t display English, either. Alas, food will have to wait.

Training begins in 3 hours, so I am off to shower and attempt to look presentable in my wrinkled clothes. Wish me luck!

Actions

Information

One response

22 07 2008
christinegilbert

Yay! Congrats! I’m looking forward to hearing more!

Leave a Reply

