Reunion

14 07 2008

Occasionally, we are forced to attend such events that remind us where we come from. Lucky for me, the mom’s side family reunion was last night, and I got to catch up with the extended family from such distant reaches as southern Illinois, Kansas and Oklahoma.

By 1 am enough beer had been consumed to lead to more interesting conversation than the standard catching up. My charmingly redneck grandfather successfully added some tension with his use of colorful and kinda sorta blatantly racist sayings around the fiance/baby daddy of my underage pregnant cousin. And did I mention the underage pregnant cousin? She announced that her baby is the size of a pencil eraser.

As if that weren’t entertaining enough, I got in a debate with my extremely religious cousin about gay rights in the wee hours of the morning. I need to learn to keep my mouth shut when I know I’m just going to end up angry and frustrated with the lack of decency and understanding with rights issues. My mother looked on, horrified and slightly amused, as we bellowed “ACTUALLY, THAT DOES OFFEND ME!!!” pretty much every other sentence.

Despite the occasional clash of opinion and awkward moments, overall the reunion was a rousing success. The family caught up and enjoyed food, games and the pleasure of each others company. I can only hope my family reunions of the future are full of a similarly entertaining cast of characters, if for no other reason than they give me something amusing to write about.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

